Tri-County Youth Sports Grant
Tri-County Youth Sports Grant Winners
1994 Eureka Basketball Team

Front Row, left to right: Dave Darnall-Head Coach, Dennis Dighton-Associate Coach, Chris Hopwood, Duane Schmedeke, Chris Peterson, Greg Crider, Ryan Markley, Stote Reeder, Dale Kalman, Chris Carter, Shane Brown-Trainer

Back Row, left to right: Randy Begole-Assistant Coach, Jeff Tyler, Adam Ferguson, Doug Hatterman, Chris Eaton, Peter Vaughn, Troy Tyler, Dennis Huttenlocher, Mike Norris

Not Pictured, Stan Prosser-Assistant Coach, Chuck Wertz-Scouting Coach, Darrel Stafford-Administrative Assistant

Coached by Dave Darnall, the Eureka College men's basketball team won the NAIA Division II national tournament for the first time, finishing the season with a 27-6 record, the best record in school history. This team is only the second team in the history of all NAIA colleges from Illinois to win a title in the NAIA National basketball championship.

The Red Devils were the NAIA II undefeated Conference Champions. The team also was the Wabash Tournament Champions and was undefeated at home during the regular season. Eureka finished sixth in the final NAIA II national rankings and then went 6-0 in post-season play.

In the final NAIA II statistics Eureka was first in team rebounding percentage (60.9), first in team scoring margin (22.65), second in 3-point field goal percentage (49.1), third in team scoring defense (64.65), and 10th in field goal percentage (51.2).

Individually, Chris Eaton was NAIA II Player of the Year and was a first team NAIA all-American, while Chris Peterson was named MVP of the national tourney.