Tri-County Youth Sports Grant
Tri-County Youth Sports Grant Winners
1985 Washington Football Team

Front Row: (from left) Rick Hern, Erich Humes, Mike Johnston, Drew Helms, Scott Foster, Brad Fuller, Rich Gunnar, Dave Mitchell, Chuck Johnson, Eric Klein, Doug Ward, Keith Shurman, Roger Hack, John Foster, Denny Klein.

Second Row: (from left) Ed Foster, Ken Hell, Chris Holford, Ken Koch, Doug Wilson, Clint Kuhlman, Bond Wagner, Scoll Walker, Ed Yoder, Gary Lowery, Steve Merkel, Brian Wagler, Jack Gresham, Brien Friend, John Roosevelt, Andy Kerr.

Third Row: (from left) Bob Belsly, Jeremy Wallis, Sean Bristol, Paul Huber, B.J. Caragher, MIcky Kauffman, Scoll Milburn, Mike Mooney, Keith Miller, Mark Teubel, Scott Underwood, Brian Sundberg.

Back Row: (from left) Asst. Coach Tom Tennyson, Asst. Coach Mark O'Neill, Asst. Coach Phil Moss, Asst. Coach Paul Cram, MIke Brownfield, Chuck Currens, Keith Teubel, Todd King, Nick Ruppman, Paul Peacock, Brian Bockler, Asst. Coach Rocke Cooper, Asst. Coach Bob Witherell, Head Coach John Venturi.

Not pictured: Dr. Phillip Baer, team doctor.

The longer Washington High School played in the 1985 state football playoffs, the better it got on the way to the Class 4A championship.

After cuffing Mid-illini foe Morton 42-12 in the first round, Coach John Venturi's potent Panthers edged past Springfield Griffin 21-18 in the second round and held off Geneseo 14-12 in the quarter finals when linebacker Todd King deflected Geneseo's two-point conversion pass that would have tied the game.

After that it became easier for the Panthers.

Roxana was belted 28-15 when Washington rolled up 299 yards rushing on the way to a 419-yard total offense blitz, the big play a 78-yard touchdown screen pass from Brad Fuller to Keith Shurman.

Then Rockton Hononegah was handled 28-12 in the title game with Denny Klein rushing for 122 yards and the defense doing its thing.

The Mid-illini recognized the brilliant 13-1 season by Washington (the only loss was 21-14 in the final game of the regular season) by putting a host of Panthers on the all-conference team.

Quarterback Brad Fuller, guard Scott Milburn, running back Keith Shurman, tackle Scott Underwood and wide receiver Doug Wilson were named to the first offensive team while linebacker Todd King and defensive lineman John Roosevelt were selected to the defensive squad.

Center Gary Lowery, end Scott Foster and running back Denny Klein made the second offensive team and lineman Brian Sundberg and linebacker Keith Teubel the second defensive squad.

Special mention was earned by guard Mike Mooney, tackle Mark Teubel and defensive back Brian Bockler.