Tri-County Youth Sports Grant
Tri-County Youth Sports Grant Winners
1935 East Peoria Football Team

Front Row: (from left) Henry Lotz, Charles Rosenthal, Marion Duchane.

Second Row: (from left) Earl Barnett, Lloyd Mueller, William Armstrong, George Davis, William Mills, Gene Robards, Robert Sommerfield.

Third Row: (from left) Carl Mundinger, Charles Gilkesson, Glen Seibert, Gordon Fothergill, Hubert Booth, Virgil Aitken, Assistant Coach Clarence Allison, Captain Walt Zander, Coach Harvey Stamper.

Back Row: (from left) John Bauer, William Johnson, Flavel Harris, Fritz Millard, Edgar Mullins, Darrel Peters, Bill Barnett.

EAST PEORIA HIGH SCHOOL began the most successful era in the school's football history in 1935 when it produced its first unbeaten team. Coached by Harvey Stamper, who later would have the football stadium named for him, East Peoria tied Normal Community in its first game and then swept to victory in its last six games, finishing the season with three shutouts. Five members of the team received all-city honors. Fullback Walt Zander was named to the first team, halfback Virgil Aitken to the second team, and ends Tony Antonacci and Bob Sommerfield and tackle Gene Robards rated honorable mention honors.

East Peoria 1, Normal Community 0 East Peoria 42, Chillicothe 0
East Peoria 19, El Paso 14 East Peoria 19, Eureka 0
East Peoria 24, Manual Sophs 6 East Peoria 13, Kingman 0
East Peoria 27, Washington 18