Tri-County Youth Sports Grant
Tri-County Youth Sports Grant Winners
1983 Elmwood Cross Country Team

Coach Tom Meyers (in back left), Left to right: Brian Opper, Curt Smith, Joe Harkness, Mitch Inskeep, Brian Miller, Jeff Kalteux, Todd Dewalt, Stan Johnson, Tracey Roberts, and Assistant Coach Greg Silzer.

The 1983 Elmwood Cross Country team could be compared to the flight of the Phoenix. The ’83 team rose from the ashes of a 106 point drubbing from number on ranked Erie at the Amboy invite to capture the state championship four weeks later. Elmwood defeated second place Erie 62 to 147 by putting three runners in front of Erie’s number one runner and seven runners in front of Erie’s number three runner. Elmwood had four all-staters and the fastest team composite time (all seven runners) in class A history. The Elmwood runners were Sr. Mitch Inskeep, 5th in 15:09; Jr. Joe Harkness, 16th in 15:16; So. Stan Johnson, 20th in 15:22; Jr. Curt Smith, 24th in 15:27; Jr. Jeff Kalteux, 37th in 15:44; Sr. Brian Miller, 43rd in 15:47; and Jr. Brian Opper, 45th in 15:50.