Tri-County Youth Sports Grant
Tri-County Youth Sports Grant Winners
1955 Chillicothe Football Team

Front row from left Jim Zinser, Phil Augustine, Kaywin McConkey, Jerry Blew, Kern Mills, Ron Peterson, Gene McKay and Carl Reifsteck.

Second row Jim Arnold, Ronald Bonati, Chad Fox, Ron Taylor, Troy Childers, Vern Hawley and Jim Tucker.

Third row Walt Schaufelberger, Jim Dolph, Danny Jones, Ray Jurkovich, Bruce Crouch and Norb Lumpp.

Fourth row Robert Hickman, Tom Talley, Denny Gould, Warren Dew, Ray Hellige, Jim Peters, Butch Mull and Jim Turpin.

Chillicothe High School zeroed in on its second consecutive undefeated season by opening the year with shutouts of Princeville, Farmington, Eureka, Metamora and Morton.

Washington became the first 1955 opponent to score against the Grey Ghosts, but that touchdown went for naught in a 19-6 decision that raised Chillicothe's record to 6-0.

The Grey Ghosts improved to 7-0 overall and clinched their second Illio Conference championship
in a row with -- what else? -- a shutout of Dunlap.

The high-flying Grey Ghosts scored 85 points in their final two victories to finish the season with 216 points compared to 30 by their nine opponents.

Senior Warren Dew received Little All-State recognition and was joined on the All-Illio first team by fellow Grey Ghosts co-captain Carl Reifsteck.

Sophomore Ron Taylor, who scored the only touchdown in both of Chillicothe's 6-0 victories, led the Grey Ghosts in offense with 896 yards.

Chillicothe 27, Princeville 0 Chillicothe 19, Washington 6
Chillicothe 6, Farmington 0 Chillicothe 6, Dunlap 0
Chillicothe 27, Eureka 0 Chillicothe 39, Tremont 18
Chillicothe 26, Metamora 0 Chillicothe 46, Mid-County 6
Chillicothe 20, Morton 0