Tri-County Youth Sports Grant
Tri-County Youth Sports Grant Winners
1938 East Peoria Football Team

Front Row: (from left) Clarence Hale, Joe Willis, Jack Lotz, Thaddeus Pinkham, Edgar Mullins, Tom Pinkham, Howard Moreland, Bill Barnett.

Second Row: (from left) Buford Hufford, Emerson Slager, Marvin Clatt, Douglas Banz, Fritz Hurt, William Kuhar, Virgil Reinders, Dutch Blumenstock, Walt Sering, Darrel Peters, Robert Bayles, Rudy Dick, Richard Massell.

Third Row: (from left) Coach Harvey Stamper, Chuck Ward, Babs Frederickson, Corwin Clatt, Joe Walker, Glen Seibert, Charles Gilkesson, Fritz Millard, Omi Loew, Assistant Coach Clarence Allison.


EAST PEORIA HIGH SCHOOL'S FOOTBALL TEAM posted its third unbeaten season in four years in 1938, the final year for Coach Harvey Stamper, who died the following year. The powerful Raiders went unscored upon in six games, with only Washington breaching the East Peoria defense in a 21-6 game. Manual came the closest to the Red Raiders, losing only 14-0 in a season when East Peoria's potent offense ran up 224 points. Center Edgar Mullins and halfbacks Glen Seibert and Charley Gilkesson were named to the All-City first team while tackle George Walley, guard Tom Pinkham, end Bill Barnett and sophomore fullback Corwin Clatt, later to star for Notre Dame, made the second team. Honorable mention honors went to ends Jack Lotz and Darrell Peters, tackle Howie Moreland, guard Thad Pinkham and quarterback Fritz Millard.

East Peoria 35, Normal Community 0 East Peoria 33, Jacksonville I.S.D. 0
East Peoria 14, Manual 0 East Peoria 48, Chillicothe 0
East Peoria 40, Havana 0 East Peoria 33, Woodruff 0
East Peoria 21, Washington 6