Tri-County Youth Sports Grant
Tri-County Youth Sports Grant Winners
1989 Peoria HS Basketball Team

Front Row, left to right: Daniel Rogers-Mgr., Chris Jones-Mgr., Larry Burnett, Marcus Albert, John Seckler, Mike Kirksey, Lamont Thomas, Ray Davis, Tremayne Coleman, Kerby Link-Mgr., Corey Ching-Mgr.

Back row, left to right: Bob Darling-Assistant Coach, John Long-Assistant Coach, Charles Buescher-Coach, Charles White, Chris Reynolds, Tryone Howard, Cartney Sazone, Michael Hughes, Anthony Cotton, Brad Bevis-Trainer, Mike Plunkett-Assistant Coach.

Twenty-two years ago, the 1989 Class AA boys' basketball tournament had it all. It all added up to an unforgettable, magic-filled weekend in Champaign and the University of Illinois' Assembly Hall and the most exhausting and exhilarating finish determining a champion. The 1989 Peoria High School Boys Basketball team was coached by Chuck Buescher and led by tough point guard Chris Reynolds. Mike Hughes was a long and lean scoring threat, Tyrone Howard's shot in the final 15 seconds gave Central a 1 point quarterfinal win, and undersized forward Charles White did whatever was needed. The team won their first 32 games to reach the title game.

East St. Louis Lincoln and Peoria Central took each other's best shots through 32 minutes of regulation. Reynolds was hit with a controversial technical foul in the first overtime, but Central survived that when Hughes beat the buzzer with a baseline jumper.

Central had a shot to win at the end of the second overtime that rimmed out, and for the first time in state history, the championship game went to a third overtime. Both teams traded big shots, and it looked as if overtime would again be necessary, but East St. Louis Lincoln hit a shot at the buzzer to win 59-57. Twenty-two years has done nothing to change the feeling about that game and one of the best state tournaments ever. This is one of Peoria's best basketball teams.