Tri-County Youth Sports Grant
Tri-County Youth Sports Grant Winners
1963 Peoria Central Football Team

Front Row: (L-R) Manager Pete Maddox, John Van Ness, Joe Crooks, Vance Smith, Harley Powers, Bob Ford, Chuck Neumann, Bill Reising, Steve Cummins, Steve Sprenger, Jeff Conrad, Gary Rodgers, Doug Davis, Jerry Beitz, Karl Kloppmann, James Butler.

Second Row: Trainer William King, Willie Hudson, Mark Bills, Phil Van Dyke, Dave Norton, Tom Gilson, Paul Dimler, Fred Haug, Bob Jockisch, Ron Palmer, Vic Dorsey, Steve Blanchard, Jim Elson, Dirk Wellbrock, Coach William Robertson.

Third Row: Jim Chatwell, Bob Cafferty, Bill Foutch, Ralph Boirum, Randy Kreiling, Steve Trenton, Tom Yentes, Guy Potter, Bob Daman, Jack Reeser, Mike Knox, Dick Hart, Charles Patterson, assistant coach Dick Whitaker.

THE 1963 PEORIA CENTRAL High School football team, coached by a former Central player, William "Corky" Robertson, produced the first unbeaten, untied season in the history of the school.

Playing a difficult schedule, the Lions roared through a ten-game schedule unscathed, scoring 243 points while allowing only 77. One shut-out was produced and in six of the other games only one touchdown was given up. No team scored more than 12 points against Central.

Eight members of the team were named to the Mid-State all-conference team: end Bill Reising, tackle Paul Dimler, guards Joe Crooks and Bob Ford, center Steve Cummins, quarterback Charles Neumann, halfback Dirt Wellbrock and fullback Bob Jockisch. In addition, tackle Fred Haug, end Karl Kloppmann, halfback Jeff Conrad and end John Van Ness received special mention.

Dimler later played college football at Army, Jockisch at Notre Dame, Haug at Purdue, Bill Reising at Iowa State, Neumann at Air Force and Cummins at Bradley.

Central 7, Maine West 6 Central 25, Richwoods 7
Central 45, Limestone 6 Central 19, Pekin 0
Central 22, Woodruff 7 Central 32, East Peoria 7
Central 20, Spalding 8 Central 19, DanVille 12
Central 25, Galesburg 12 Central 27, Manual