Tri-County Youth Sports Grant
Tri-County Youth Sports Grant Winners
1991 Farmington SoftballTeam

Front Row, left to right: Shannon Adkins, Angie Isbell, Jody Patterson, Marni Johnson, Dawn Stanley, Bridget Bales, Heidi Donath

Second Row, left to right: Heather Bordner, Kelly Organiscak, Patty Carmody, Stephanie Friedrich, Chris Oldfield, Joey Danz, Stephanie Mullens

Back Row, left to right: Chris Walker-Assistant coach, Michelle Lamie, Becki Warner, Brenda Buckman, Tom Wierzba-Coach

In 1991 the Farmington girls compiled a 24-4 overall record. After the 1989 first place and 1990 fourth place finishes in the class A softball tournament, the Farmington girls returned to Pekin IL. to capture their second first place class A championship trophy.

On their way to the championship they only gave up two runs. In the quarterfinal game they defeated Williamsville 3-1, and in the semifinals they defeated Carmi (C- White County) 3-0. Then in the championship game they defeated the girls from Braidwood (Reed-Custer) by the score of 7-1 to take the 1st place trophy back to their town of Farmington.

The Lady Farmers had several girls named to the all-tournament team: Marni Johnson, Dawn Stanley, Stephanie Mullens, Angie Isbell, and Becki Warner who was named MVP of the tournament. Just a junior with a 23-4 record Becki was named to the Chicago Tribune All-State Team.

So for the second time in three years Wierzba and his Lady Farmers defied heavy odds enroute to capturing their second class A state softball title at Pekin.